Monday, 20 June 2011

County Council Liberal Democrats Name Their New Team

Liberal Democrats have named their new front line team on Cambridgeshire County Council for the next year.

Group Leader, Councillor Kilian Bourke, who officially took over from Cllr Fiona Whelan on Friday (June 17) is supported by Cllr Lucy Nethsingha, who takes over as Deputy Leader from Cllr Peter Downes.

Cllr Graham Wilson has been elected Group Chairman, Cllr Michael Williamson, Group Secretary and Cllr Peter Downes, Group Treasurer.

Cllr Susan van de Ven will lead the Transport portfolio for the next year; Cllr Kevin Wilkins has been elected spokesman for Planning, Enterprise and Environment and Cllr Sarah Whitebread will head up Localism, Climate Change and Social Justice. 

Social Care for Children and Adults will be led by Cllr Fiona Whelan, Cllr Geoff Heathcock will lead on Health and Cllr Peter Downes will continue as Education spokesman.

Cllrs John Batchelor and Kevin Wilkins will continue on Cambridgeshire Police Authority and Cllrs Nigel Bell, Geoff Heathcock and Sue Gymer will be joined by Fiona Whelan on Cambridgeshire Fire Authority.

Cllr Tim Stone has been elected chairman of the Audit Committee.

Cllr Bourke said: “I am delighted to be given the opportunity to lead such a strong team of councillors. We have a wealth of knowledge, expertise and political experience among our front line."

“We will continue to be an effective opposition doing our best for our ward residents and people across the county.”