Friday, 22 November 2013

Awards Evening Celebrates Success In Fire Service

Cambridgeshire Fire and Rescue Service (CFRS) celebrated long service, staff achievements and support from the local community at its annual awards evening last night (November 21).

The event celebrated the commitment, dedication and professionalism of CFRS staff and others outside of the Service who go above and beyond to improve the level of service CFRS provides within the community.

This year, the event was sponsored by the following organisations, meaning the cost of the evening was solely paid for by our supporters:
  • TruckEast 
  • Emergency One and Clan Tools 
  • Godiva 
  • Masters Logistics, of Stretham 
  • Scania 
  • Interspiro 
  • Supply +
Around 130 guests arrived at the Marriott Hotel in Huntingdon for the event, including recipients of medals, winners of awards and their families.

Awards presented on the evening, which was hosted by Graham Stagg, Chief Fire Officer for CFRS and BBC Look East presenter Janine Machin, included:

Long Service and Good Conduct medals - presented under a Royal Warrant for members of the uniformed service after completing 20 years of long and meritorious service to the fire and rescue service and the public. These were presented by Vice Lord Lieutenant, Jane Lewin Smith JP DL.

Chairman¿s Awards - an award made to retired personnel who have completed at least 25 years' service with CFRS. Presented by Sir Peter Brown, Chairman of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Fire Authority.

Excellence Awards - these eight awards reflect a variety of different achievements made both within and outside of the Service. Winners of the Excellence Awards were nominated by staff in the Service.

Certificates of Commendation - a formal recognition to both members of staff and external stakeholders.

After the ceremony, Chief Fire Officer Graham Stagg said: "This evening reflects how we have not only some of the very best firefighters on the frontline in Cambridgeshire, but also how we have incredibly talented support staff across the Service working hard to make the county a safer place.

"Tonight there were excellent examples of people going above and beyond despite the change and uncertainty that has been going on in the background over the past few months with both budget cuts and a national dispute.

"This evening would not have been possible without the generosity of our sponsors. A massive thank you has to go to the organisations who have contributed in some way to tonight's event."

David Hall, from TruckEast, said: "We were delighted to once again sponsor the ceremony which recognises the excellent work that goes on not just on the frontline, but also behind the scenes, to help make Cambridgeshire a safer place to be."

Mike Madsen, from Emergency One, commented: "As a proud sponsor of the Excellence Awards, it allowed us to see first-hand the professionalism, dedication and courage in many departments within Cambridgeshire Fire and Rescue Service. Congratulations to all the winners and thank you for allowing us to play a small part in your evening."

Adrian Poole, Godiva UK Manager, added: "Godiva are delighted to be involved with this year's awards. As a long-standing equipment supplier to the UK fire service we are fully aware of the hard work and dedication of service personnel in the frontline and back at the station. It is pleasing to see this commitment to a treasured public service rightfully honoured. Well done all the winners."

The evening ended with a prize draw of donated prizes.

Award winners:
Long Service and Good Conduct medal
  • Andrew Ellington - Firefighter, Cambridge Fire Station 
  • Robin Hodgson - Firefighter, Huntingdon Fire Station 
  • David Murfitt - On-call firefighter, Littleport Fire Station 
  • Kym Napier - On-call firefighter, Huntington Fire Station 
  • Carl Pardon - Station commander, Sawtry Fire Station and Huntingdon Training Centre 
  • James Thompson - Firefighter, Operational Risk and Response Team
Support Staff Long Service Award
  • Matthew Warren - Director of Resources, Service Headquarters, Huntingdon
Chairman's Award
  • Adrian Hunter - retired on-call firefighter, March Fire Station
Excellence Awards

Excellence in Community Safety Award

Phil Thacker (Ramsey on-call) - for his continuous support for community safety activities, particularly in driving down deliberate fires at the former RAF Upwood site.

Operational Excellence Award

Cambridge black watch - for a dramatic dog rescue from a frozen lake at Milton Country Park during which crews showed great leadership and teamwork to ensure the dog was safely rescued and returned to its owner.

Award for Innovation

Clare Flint (Service Headquarters) and Julian Fountain (Station Commander for Burwell and Swaffham and Risk Manager for Cambridge, East and South Cambs) - for creating a risk profiling document that has allowed fire protection officers to focus resources on key areas.

Scott Feveyear (Watch Commander at Cambridge) and Danny Kelly (Watch Commander at Huntingdon) - for the work put into developing enhanced training days for on-call stations.

Leadership Award

Harry Edge (Station Commander and on-call duty system support officer) - for his leadership and commitment to improving the on-call service.

Team Achievement Award

Payroll (SHQ): Andrea Batchelor, Ann Read and Michaela Moore - for their contribution to business change projects and supporting colleagues in other groups, while consistently maintaining a less than 1 per cent error rate on five payrolls. In responding to queries they work together to discuss the issues, research solutions and resolve them. They are also always seeking ways to improve their service.

Individual Achievement Award

Kevin Partridge (Technical Support Assistant at Training Centre, Huntingdon and On-call Crew Commander at Huntingdon) - for the many roles he offers - as both an on-call firefighter and at training centre - and the commitment he shows to the organisation.

Partnership Achievement Award

Paul Clarke (Station Commander at Sutton Fire Station and Fire Protection Manager based at Dogsthorpe) - for coordinating the partnership work at a multi-agency incident involving an oil tanker on the A14.

On-call Employer of the Year

Cottenham Tyre and Auto Centre - for demonstrating outstanding commitment to the Service by releasing half the workforce to attend incidents when required. This has included at times closing the garage and turning away customers to allow firefighters to attend calls.

Certificate of Commendation

Alan Chapman (resident of Littleport) - for the selfless act of heroism at a road traffic collision in Littleport (May 25, 2013) by helping a trapped casualty from a burning vehicle.