Monday, 12 May 2014

Cambridgeshire Liberal Democrats elect new front-line team

Cambridgeshire Liberal Democrats have elected their new front-line team for the coming year with Leader, Maurice Leeke and Deputy Lucy Nethsingha continuing in their roles.

Kilian Bourke will serve as chair of Cambridgeshire County Council’s Health Scrutiny Committee and Ed Cearns as Vice Chair of the council’s Economy and Environment Committee.

Peter Downes will continue as spokesperson for Children and Young People’s Services and Susan van de Ven as spokesperson for Highways and Community Infrastructure.

David Jenkins has been elected as Health spokesperson and Graham Wilson as spokesperson for the Adults Committee.

Lucy Nethsingha, Mike Shellens and Barbara Ashworth become members of the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Fire Authority.

Graham Wilson continues as Chair of the group.

Cllr Leeke said: “I am delighted to be elected as group leader for a second term. This is a pivotal time for the council and I am looking forward to overseeing the transition from the council’s Cabinet system to the new committee system.

“I also have a strong team of councillors who bring a huge amount of expertise to their areas of work.”